Church of the Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary, ХVIII
11, Moskovskaya Street
Phone: (48535) 23288
Situated on a mountain in a picturesque area of the southern part of the town, this house of worship is surrounded by three monasteries — Trinity-Danilov, Fedorvsky and Goritsky (now a fine-art preserve). The Church of the Purification with the Nevsky side-chapel was erected at the request of the congregation in 1785. The layout of the church is traditional: a single-story refectory is adjacent to the western side of the church topped with an exquisite cupola. The fate of the church in the 20th century was typical. Closed in 1930 with all its artifacts taken away, it was re-opened only in the late 1980s.